How to Delete or close your Hotmail account?

What to do before you close your account?

Before closing your Hotmail/Outlook account, you must close your Microsoft account. And before you do that, you must unsubscribe from the services associated with that Microsoft account to avoid inconvenience in the future. These services could include the Skype ID, your Xbox, and the files you have saved through that account on OneDrive.

How to close your account in 5 simple steps:

Step 1 – Go to the Outlook Account Closure Page.

You must go to the Outlook Account Closure Page and log in if you are logged out of your Hotmail/Outlook account. If you were logged out of your Hotmail account, you also have the option of entering your phone number’s last four digits, to access the Outlook Account Closure Page. You will be sent code on your phone, and you must enter that code in the field that has been provided.

When already logged in, then the Outlook Account Closure Page can be accessed after entering your password.

Step 2- Read the account closure information and click “next.”

After logging in to the Outlook Account Closure Page, you will be directed to a page full of information. Read that information closely since it will tell you what you need to do (i.e., cancel subscriptions related to that account) before you delete your account.

After carefully going through all the information, click the “Next” button that will be on the bottom of the page.

Step 3 – Read and tick the clauses of deletion.

After you have clicked “Next” you will be directed to a page with some clauses. You have to check the box beside each of those clauses to let Microsoft know that you are aware of the step you’re taking.

These clauses include information like “You will lose access to data you’ve stored anywhere you used this account to sign in” etc. You need to understand this information before ticking the box.

Step 4 – Select a reason for deleting your account.

You must tell Microsoft why you want to delete your account. For that, you must select a reason from the list of reasons they have given you. These reasons include “This account was hacked.” Or “I no longer want any Microsoft account.” If the reason why you want to delete this account is not present in the list, select the option of “My reason isn’t listed.”

Step 5 – Click on the button that says “Mark account for Closure.”

After selecting a reason for deleting your account, you must click the button at the bottom of the page that says “Mark account for Closure.” In doing so, you will be marking your account as one of the accounts that need to be closed.

Can you reopen your account?

If you change your mind after marking your account for closure you can log in to your Microsoft account within 60 days of marking your account for closure and your account will be fully functional again!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *